Yuvraj Singh dropped as India name 15-man squad for Sri Lanka ODI's and T20

The BCCI has given a maiden call-up for pacer Shardul Thakur as they announced the 15-man squad for the upcoming five-match ODI's and lone Twenty20 clash against Sri Lanka

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
13th August 2017

article:13th August 2017

Veteran Yuvraj Singh has been dropped.
Veteran Yuvraj Singh has been dropped.

India dropped veteran batsman Yuvraj Singh from the upcoming limited-overs series against Sri Lanka as the national selectors opted for youngsters in the 15-man squad.

Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja along with pace spearhead Mohammed Shami were rested from the five one-day internationals and a single Twenty20 starting next week.

Former captain and wicketkeeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni retained his place in the side that witnessed seven changes from their tour of the West Indies in June-July.

The 35-year-old Yuvraj, who scored only 57 runs in three ODIs against West Indies, is fast losing favour as the team’s middle order mainstay.

The flamboyant left-handed all-rounder, who is a two-time World Cup winner, has represented India in 304 ODIs since making his debut against Kenya in 2000.

Batsman Manish Pandey, who recently led India A to a tri-series triumph in South Africa, returned to the team along with Test opener Lokesh Rahul.

Rookie spinners Axar Patel, who was added in the Test squad as cover for suspended Jadeja, and Yuzvendra Chahal made the cut.

Jasprit Bumrah and uncapped Shardul Thakur will bolster the pace attack along with the experienced Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Thakur had impressed in India A’s tr-series victory in South Africa, picking up nine wickets.

The visitors, who are in firm command of the ongoing third and final Test after taking an unassailable 2-0 lead, will play their first ODI on August 20.

Maiden call-up for pacer Shardul Thakur.

Maiden call-up for pacer Shardul Thakur.

India squad for the five ODI’s and sole Twenty20

Virat Kohli (c)

Rohit Sharma (vc)

KL Rahul

Shikhar Dhawan

Manish Pandey

Ajinkya Rahane

Kedar Jadhav

Mahender Singh Dhoni (wk)

Hardik Pandya

Axar Patel

Kuldeep Yadav

Yuzvendra Chahal

Jasprit Bumrah

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar

Shardul Thakur