Umar Akmal recalled to Pakistan T20 squad

Pakistan announced Friday the squad for the three-match Twenty20 series against world champions the West Indies to be played in the United Arab Emirates later this month.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
9th September 2016

article:9th September 2016

The series begins in Dubai on September 23.
The series begins in Dubai on September 23.

Umar Akmal has been recalled to the side for the first time since being ditched by his country in the fallout from the World T20 in India.

Akmal was criticised by then coach Waqar Younis but is now set to return to the side under Mickey Arthur.

From the squad picked for the sole T20I against England this summer, which Pakistan won, Amad Butt is the only casualty.

Joining Akmal in being added to the squad are Saad Nasim and Rumman Raees.

Nasim has played just three T20Is for his country, the last being against New Zealand in Dubai two years ago, while Raees is in line to make his Pakistan debut should he be given the nod.

Pakistan play the world champions in a three match series beginning in Dubai (September 23, 24) and ending in Abu Dhabi (September 27).

Full squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Saad Nasim, Rumman Raees