WATCH - Comical mistake from third umpire

During the second Test between Australia and Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, the third umpire made a hilarious mistake with Azhar Ali en route to another Test century.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
27th December 2016

article:27th December 2016

Azhar Ali is taken aback after he is initially given out.
Azhar Ali is taken aback after he is initially given out.

Azhar Ali has been one of the best batsmen in Test cricket in recent times and he was en route to another century at the MCG on Tuesday.

At the non-striker’s end, batting on 93, Ali had to dive back into his crease as a straight drive from team-mate Asad Shafiq flicked bowler Jackson Bird’s hand before hitting the stumps.

The replays showed that Ali was comfortably home and while it was an easy decision to make, there were some nervous moments for the Pakistan opener as third umpire Richard Illingworth pressed the wrong button and ‘OUT’ was displayed on the big screen.

On field umpire S.Ravi, though, was quick to point out to the players that it was a mistake. The error was quickly rectified and the words ‘NOT OUT’ appeared much to the delight of Ali and Pakistan’s supporters.

The 31-year-old would go on to notch up his 12th Test century and ended day two unbeaten on 139 as rain forced an early close again with Pakistan on 310/6 in their first innings.



We Recommend

Related Tags

Related Stories