ICC Women's World Cup schedule announced

The ICC Women's World Cup 2017 will take place from June 24 to July 23.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
8th March 2017

article:8th March 2017

Australia are the defending champions [Getty Images]
Australia are the defending champions [Getty Images]

Hosts England will face off against India in the opening match of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 on June 24.

A total of eight teams – England, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan – will face off against each other in a league stage with the top four sides qualifying for the semi-finals.

The much-anticipated clash between India and Pakistan will take place at The County Ground, Derby on July 2.

The final is scheduled for July 23 and will be held at Lord’s.

“I can’t think of a better moment than International Women’s Day to unveil the schedule of one of the leading global events in women’s sport,” said ICC Chief Executive David Richardson.

“We are anticipating an exciting tournament and I know the players are looking forward to competing here in front of unprecedented levels of support.

“We’ve already sold 9000 tickets for the final at Lord’s which bodes well for the rest of the event going on sale today. I know we can always count on the British sport loving public to support big events.

“After the extremely successful qualifying tournament in Sri Lanka last month, we can already see that there will be some fiercely contested fixtures as the standard and competitiveness of women’s cricket continues to rise.”

The entire schedule can be found in the image below.

Image [via ICC]