Virat Kohli, Sarfraz Ahmed, Joe Root make Champions Trophy team of the tournament

The ICC have named the team of the tournament for the recently-concluded Champions Trophy.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
19th June 2017

article:19th June 2017

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Monday, announced the team of the tournament for the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy and both captains from the final, Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed and India’s Virat Kohli, have been included in the team.

In a media release, the ICC said: “The side was selected by a jury of cricket experts, which included former captains Michael Atherton of England, India’s Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan as well as Lawrence Booth (Editor, Wisden Almanack and cricket writer, The Mail) and Julian Guyer (cricket correspondent, Agence France-Presse), with ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice, as chairman.”

Unsurprisingly, highest run-scorer Shikhar Dhawan and highest wicket-taker Hasan Ali (who was also named as the player of the tournament) find a place in the eleven.

Sarfraz has been named as the captain of the side after he led Pakistan to an ICC ODI title after 25 years.


Shikhar Dhawan (India), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Virat Kohli (India), Joe Root (England), Ben Stokes (England), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (c, wk), Adil Rashid (England), Junaid Khan (Pakistan), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India), Hassan Ali (Pakistan)

12th Player – Kane Williamson