Australia opener Aaron Finch left flummoxed by mixed implementation of new ICC regulations in Ranchi defeat

Australia's Aaron Finch expressed his unhappiness at the mixed implementation of the new ICC rules which caught his side unaware in the T20I defeat to India on Saturday.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
8th October 2017

article:8th October 2017

Finch was not aware that DRS was available for the Ranchi T20I.
Finch was not aware that DRS was available for the Ranchi T20I.

Australia opening batsman Aaron Finch has had a stellar time individually in his side’s ongoing tour of India despite the results going against the visitors so far.

The Victoria batsman scored 42 runs, the highest by an Aussie in the match, during his side’s nine-wicket loss to India in the rain-curtailed first T20I between the two sides at Ranchi on Saturday.


The 30-year-old however was not happy about the mixed implementations of ICC’s new rules and regulations for T20Is in the defeat at Ranchi. It seemed that Finch had not been made aware that the Decision Review System (DRS) was in place during the match in keeping with the new ICC changes.

“I didn’t know there was a review system until about the fifth over. Nobody did,” Finch told ESPNCricinfo.

“Steve Smith, when he ran out a drink, mentioned it. So, we had to ask the umpires. But it is quite strange to have a crossover of rules for this series. I mean bat sizes and things like that are coming in at the end of the series,” he clarified.

India's Shikhar Dhawan acknowledged the inconsistency.

India’s Shikhar Dhawan acknowledged the inconsistency.

Previously there are had been provisions for DRS in T20Is and the new rule changes grant one review to each team in a match.

The new regulations also state that in case of a game being reduced to under 10 overs, the fielding side will be allowed to have two of its bowlers throw down two overs each. Hence, Australia should have been allowed the luxury of having two of its bowlers throw down two overs in the six-over chase for India.

Ultimately, only pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile was allotted two overs during Saturday, a point which has further irked Finch.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan empathised with his Australian counterpart on the gaffe but said the rules which are in place cannot be ignored.

“I’m sure they (Australia) would have felt the inconsistency,” Dhawan said. “But whatever is the rule, is the rule. I’m not exactly aware of the rule you were talking about. But, it is what it is,” he added.


Share

Comments