A look at Chennai Super Kings past performances as they return to the IPL

Chennai will be back in the IPL in 2018 having served out their two-year suspension

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
14th July 2017

article:14th July 2017

The CSK team during IPL 2015 [Sportzpics]
The CSK team during IPL 2015 [Sportzpics]

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), one of the most successful teams in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), will make a return to the tournament in 2018 after having served a two-year suspension.

In the eight seasons that they have taken part in the IPL, the Chennai-based franchise have reached the final four every single time, making the final in six editions and winning the competition twice.

IPL 2008 – Finalists

IPL 2009 – Semi-finalists

IPL 2010 – Winners

IPL 2011 – Winners

IPL 2012 – Finalists

IPL 2013 – Finalists

IPL 2014 – Third (lost in Qualifier 2)

IPL 2015 – Finalists

In addition to such consistency in the IPL, CSK also won the Champions League T20 twice.

CLT20 2009 – Did not qualify

CLT20 2010 – Winners

CLT20 2011 – Group Stage

CLT20 2012 – Group Stage

CLT20 2013 – Semi-finalists

CLT20 2014 – Winners

A post shared by @mahi7781 on

It’ll come as no surprise that Suresh Raina has played the most matches and scored the most runs for CSK.

On the other hand, Ravichandran Ashwin has been their most successful bowler.

(NOTE: Includes IPL and CLT20)


Suresh Raina – 156

MS Dhoni – 153

Ravichandran Ashwin – 121


Suresh Raina – 4541

MS Dhoni – 3436

Michael Hussey – 2213


Ravichandran Ashwin – 120

Dwayne Bravo – 93

Albie Morkel – 91

Two players representing CSK have won the Orange Cap for being the top run-scorer in a season: Matthew Hayden in 2009 and Michael Hussey in 2013.

The Purple Cap for being the highest wicket-taker in a season has been won thrice by players representing CSK: twice by Dwayne Bravo in 2013, 2015 and once by Mohit Sharma in 2014.



We Recommend

Related Tags

Related Stories