Aberdein wins inaugural F4 UAE Championship

In the TRD 86 Cup, two-time reigning champion, Karim Al Azhari secured top spot in a nail-biting battle on the iconic F1 track.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
14th March 2017

article:14th March 2017

The penultimate round of Yas Racing Series, which was held at Yas Marina Circuit this weekend, got off to a roaring start with not one but four Championship races taking place including the TRD 86 Cup and the final of the inaugural Formula 4 UAE Championship.

Friday saw fan favourite, the single-make TRD 86 Cup, return to the track, supported once again by Toyota Racing Development (TRD).

Spectators were not disappointed as the first race was a non-stop battle for supremacy consisting of bumper-to-bumper dicing and intense overtaking action. In a tremendous scrap, the drivers pushed their racing machines to their limits and the lead spot changed hands numerous times in a nail-biting race.

0314 F4 UAE 3


Two-time reigning champion, Karin Al Azhari, showed that experience was key and snatched the victory with a time of 20 minutes and 49.952 seconds. Following just a second behind Al Azhari was Shihab Al Fahim (20.50.927) with Magh following in third, crossing the line in 21.04.245.

Race 2 again saw Al Azhari triumphant with a first-place, finishing 17 laps in 20.55.909. Al Fahim finished in second with a time of 21.01.326 and Magh finished comfortably in third with a time of 21.08.541.


The final round of the F4UAE Championship powers by Abarth saw South African racer Jonathan Aberdein from Team Motopark claim the overall title. Dubai-based Sean Babington finished third in the championship for Energy Dubai F4 racing Team and was voted winner of the inaugural F4UAE Sportsmanship Award as well.

0314 F4 UAE


Team Motopark from Germany claimed Teams Champion honours, the QMMF F4 Team won the GCC Nations Cup Trophy for best GCC team, while their lead driver Ahmad Al Muhannadi won the Best Performing GCC driver award.

In the Radical Middle East Cup Jani Hjerppe finished 43 laps in 46.00.040 which secured him first place in Race 1. Crossing the line in second,15 second later, was Sergey Shalunov (46.15.233) followed by Lukashevich-Makarovskiy (46.15.760) in third. Race 2 saw an electrifying battle for first place between Sergey Shalunov and Lukashevich-Makarovskiy.

0314 F4 UAE 4

After 37 laps of the track Sergey Shalunov secured first place with a time of 45.10.036, crossing the line just 1 second ahead of his competition, meaning Lukashevich-Makarovskiy (45.11.862) had to settle for second and Dumitrascu- Smith (45.14.531) in third.

In the Formula Gulf 1000, Race 1 saw Omar Gazzaz take top spot with Alex Karkosik in second.

The fourth and final round of Yas Racing Series will take place in April 2017 and tickets can be purchased for as little as AED 25.