On this day: McIlroy wins 2nd consecutive Major

On this day two years ago, Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy joined Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods as only golfers with three different majors at age 25 or younger.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
10th August 2016

article:10th August 2016

Rory McIlroy  wins 2014 British Open  major.
Rory McIlroy wins 2014 British Open major.

In the summer of 2014, there was arguably no one hotter in the world of sport, and certainty not in golf, than Rory McIlroy.

After triumphing in his third major by topping the Open Championship, McIlroy continued his fine form by also nabbing the PGA Championship less than a month later on this day two years ago.

It wasn’t without competition, however, as Phil Mickelson made him earn it and finished only one stroke behind the Northern Irishman at Valhalla.

McIlroy carded a 68 in the final round while Mickelson tallied 66, but it was still good enough to earn him the Wanamaker Trophy as he shot -16 overall with a total of 268.

More memorable events to have happened on this day:


1949: Ezzard Charles TKOs Gus Lesnevich for the heavyweight title.

1981: Pete Rose records his 3,631st career hit to break Stan Musial’s National League record.

1983: Carl Lewis wins the gold in men’s long jump at inaugural World Championships in Athletics.

1988: Matt Biondi swims world record 100 metre freestyle in 48.42 seconds.