Elias Boudegzdame becomes Brave CF's first featherweight champion

Brave CF's Fight Night in Abu Dhabi sees a historic moment in the event's history.

Sport360 staff
by Sport360 staff
1st April 2017

article:1st April 2017

Brave CF landed in Abu Dhabi for their fourth installment, crowning their first ever Featherweight champion. The French-Algerian Elias Boudegzdame submitted Mexico’s Masio Fullen via a first-round triangle.

After a wild first round with both fighters getting dropped, Boudegzdame was able to lock in the triangle choke off his back, submitting Fullen and becoming Brave CF’s first ever champion.

The stacked card also included some of the Middle East’s finest as “The Pride of Palestine” Abdul Kareem Al Selwady scored a second round stoppage over Michael Deiga-Scheck sending the crowd into a frenzy.

Jordan’s Jarrah Al Silawi rallied back to out-grit SBG’s Daniele Scattizi in a bout where Silawi was able to use his agility and pace to get the closely contested decision.

Morocco’s Ottman Azaitar lived up to his nickname the “Bulldozer” when he ran through Charlie Leary, scoring the first round KO. He continues to be one of Brave’s most impressive fighters, improving to 2-0 under the banner. He won both the knockout of the night and fight of the night bonuses, stealing the show.

Arguably the most popular fighter in the Middle East, Mohammed Fakhreddine picked up a TKO (doctor’s stoppage) win after opening up a cut on top of Vinicius Cruz’s head. The medical staff stopped the fight due to the nasty gash giving Fakhreddine the stoppage win.

The card also featured a hard fought battle between UFC veterans Alan Omer and Robbie Peralta. Omer was able to use his takedowns late to secure a third round rear naked choke.

Six Arab fighters notched up standout wins in a night where the fighters made their mark on the ever growing sport of MMA.

Brave CF will land in Mumbai, India April 22 for their fifth show. The main event pits a welterweight match up between Carl Booth and Tahar Hadbi and the co-headliner will feature two of India’s best fighters, Abdul Muneer and Gurdarshan Mangat.