IN PICS: Hamilton meets fans after aborted Chinese GP practice

Class act: Hamilton.

While there wasn’t a lot for F1 fans to cheer about at Shanghai on Friday, Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton did do his best to light up the mood.

Smog and damp weather combined to cut short morning practice and forced the cancellation of the afternoon action.

Frustratingly for fans, the issues weren’t even track-related. It was safety reasons.

F1’s race medical helicopter would have been unable to land at designated hospitals due to Chinese rules on flight visibility.

So, after a delayed start to FP1 and an interruption due to deteriorating visibility, FP2 never got going but fans of the sport still stayed at the Shanghai International Circuit.

And to the delight of many, an in-the-mood Hamilton (who didn’t get the chance to drive at all on Friday) was ready to meet, greet and sign autographs for his fans. And well, that’s what he did.

Meanwhile, who do you think will win the Chinese Grand Prix 2017?

Share with us your thoughts by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.

Most popular

Jos Verstappen arrested after nightclub brawl!

F1i 3/04/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Max Verstappen (L) along with his father Jos Verstappen (R).

Max Verstappen’s father has apparently spent the night in jail after he was arrested for his involvement in a night club brawl in the Dutch town of Roermond.

De Limburger newspaper said former F1 driver Jos Verstappen suffered facial injuries in the fight when with the club’s staff ordered those fighting to leave.

“A man with significant injuries refused,” the Dutch broadcaster 1Limburg quoted a police spokesman as saying.

Algemeen Dagblad, another Dutch newspaper, quoted Verstappen’s lawyer as saying the 45-year-old was the one who was attacked.

“He was waiting to be picked up. If you are a victim, why do you have to leave?” the lawyer said, referring to Verstappen’s arrest.

De Limburger said Verstappen, who has a bit of a reputation for being a hot head and who last year was involved in an altercation with his own father, said police confirmed he suffered a black eye and facial wound.

A police spokesman said the former Benetton and Minardi driver spent the night in jail to cool off.

Most popular

How can I watch the Chinese Grand Prix?

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

The Formula One championship continues this weekend in China with Lewis Hamilton looking to pick up his first win of the season after missing out in Australia.

The three-time world champion started on pole down under, but could not match eventual winner Sebastian Vettel.

With all eyes on Ferrari after their victory, the Chinese Grand Prix this weekend is one not to miss.

Here’s how you can catch all the action in Shanghai.

DATE, TIME, VENUE INFO

DATE: 7-9 April 2017

KEY TIMES:

FRIDAY, APRIL 7 – FIRST PRACTICE SESSION: 03:00 GMT (6:00 UAE time)
FRIDAY, APRIL 7 – SECOND PRACTICE SESSION: 07:00 GMT (10:00 UAE time)
SATURDAY, APRIL 8 – THIRD PRACTICE SESSION: 
05:00 GMT (8:00 UAE time)
SATURDAY, APRIL 8 – QUALIFYING: 08:00 GMT (11:00 UAE time)
SUNDAY, APRIL 9 – RACE: 07:00 GMT (10:00 UAE time)

VENUE: Shanghai International Circuit


WHERE TO WATCH

TV: UAE – beIN Sports

LIVE BLOG: Sport360 blog


PREDICTION

1. Hamilton
2. Vettel
3. Bottas

Most popular