WATCH: Badminton's elite gather in Dubai

The BWF awards saw badminton's best players recognised at Dubai's Armani Hotel ahead of the season-ending World Superseries finals at the Hamdan Sports Complex.
13th December 2016

article:13th December 2016

The Dubai World Superseries Finals gala dinner saw badminton’s big winners of 2016 handed awards for their efforts. The winners were:

Male player of the year: Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia.

Most Promising Player of the Year: Chen Qingchen of China.

The Female Para-Badminton Player of the Year: Karin Suter-Erath of Switzerland.

The Golden Shuttle awards for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games champions:

Carolina Marin of Spain (Women’s Singles)

Misaki Matsutomo/Ayaka Takahashi of Japan (Women’s Doubles)

Tontowi Ahmad/Liliyana Natsir of Indonesia (Mixed Doubles)

Chen Long of China (Men’s Singles).

BWF Most Improved Player of the Year: P. V. Sindhu of India.



We Recommend

Related Tags

Related Stories