The Hundred: The ECB reveals fixtures for the inaugural edition

Sport360 staff 22:14 26/11/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

The England Cricket Board’s brain-child,  ‘The Hundred’ – will have eight teams competing against each other in a 100-ball competition between July 17 and August 15.

The ECB announced the fixture list for the tournament on Tuesday with Jason Roy’s Invincibles taking on Jonny Bairstow’s Fire. There will be 32 league matches in total, with the top three finishers competing in the Finals Day.

The top team earns an automatic spot in the final and will face the winner of the match between the second placed team and the third placed team.

In the group stages, teams will face each other once apart from each of their designated rivals whom they will play twice.

The eight teams competing are: Oval Invincibles, Welsh Fire, Birmingham Phoenix, London Spirit, Manchester Originals, Northern Superchargers, Southern Brave and Trent Rockets.

Each team’s squad will be made up of 15 players with a maximum of three overseas stars. The format will see each side bat for up to 100 balls with a change of bowling ends taking place after every 10 balls.

During a game, bowlers will be able to deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls but no more than 20 per match. Each innings would open with a 25-ball power play.

Here are the Fixtures:

July 17: Oval Invincibles vs Welsh Fire (The Oval)
July 18: Birmingham Phoenix vs London Spirit (Edgbaston)
July 18: Manchester Originals vs Northern Superchargers (Old Trafford)
July 19: Welsh Fire vs South Brave (Cardiff)
July 19: Trent Rockets vs Birmingham Phoenix (Trent Bridge)
July 20: Northern Superchargers vs Oval Invincibles (Headingley)
July 21: London Spirit vs Trent Rockets (Lord’s)
July 22: Southern Brave vs Manchester Originals (Ageas Bowl)
July 23: London Spirit vs Northern Superchargers (Lord’s)
July 24: Birmingham Phoenix vs Southern Brave (Edgbaston)
July 25: Oval Invincibles vs Manchester Originals (The Oval)
July 25: Trent Rockets vs Welsh Fire (Trent Bridge)
July 26: Southern Brave vs Oval Invincibles (Ageas Bowl)
July 26: Northern Superchargers vs Birmingham Phoenix (Headingley)
July 27: Manchester Originals vs Trent Rockets (Old Trafford)
July 28: Welsh Fire vs Birmingham Phoenix (Cardiff)
July 29: Oval Invincibles vs London Spirit (The Oval)
July 30: Northern Superchargers vs Southern Brave (Headingley)
July 31: Manchester Originals vs London Spirit (Old Trafford)
August 1: Welsh Fire vs Northern Superchargers (Cardiff)
August 2: Trent Rockets vs Oval Invincibles (Trent Bridge)
August 3: Birmingham Phoenix vs Manchester Originals (Edgbaston)
August 4: Southern Brave vs Trent Rockets (Ageas Bowl)
August 5: Northern Superchargers vs Manchester Originals (Headingley)
August 6: London Spirit vs Oval Invincibles (Lord’s)
August 7: Southern Brave vs Welsh Fire (Ageas Bowl)
August 8: Birmingham Phoenix vs Trent Rockets (Edgbaston)
August 9: Welsh Fire vs London Spirit (Cardiff)
August 10: Trent Rockets vs Northern Superchargers (Trent Bridge)
August 11: Oval Invincibles vs Birmingham Phoenix (The Oval)
August 12: London Spirit vs Southern Brave (Lord’s)
August 13: Manchester Originals vs Welsh Fire (Old Trafford)
August 15: FINALS

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular

Related Sections