England rest Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes for ODI series against South Africa

Sport360 staff 18:17 13/12/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Jofra Archer.

Fast bowler Jofra Archer and all-rounder Ben Stokes feature in the T20I squad after being rested for the preceding ODI series against South Africa, next year.

Joe Root  was the notable exclusion in the England T20I squad for the T20I series in South Africa early next year. All-rounder Moeen Ali has made a return to limited-overs cricket after he was named in both the white-ball squads for the tour of South Africa.

The World Champions will be playing their first ODI series since that dramatic win at Lord’s against New Zealand in the 2019 World Cup. The ODIs will be played on February 4, 7 and 9 and it will be followed by a three-match T20I series to conclude a two-month long tour.

The T20Is will be played on February 12, 14 and 16. England begin their tour of South Africa with a four-match Test series that begins on December 26.

The England Cricket Board (ECB) has named four uncapped players in the ODI squad – Pat Brown, Matthew Parkinson, Saqib Mahmood and Tom Banton.

Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes and Mark Wood have all been rested for the ODIs,  with national selector Ed Smith stating that both squads have been chosen “with an eye on the T20 World Cup in 2020”. England recently won the five-match T20I series against Kane Williamson’s New Zealand, away from home.

“These two squads were selected with an eye on the T20 World Cup in Australia in 2020,” said Ed Smith, national selector. “In the T20s, a number of players who were rested for the successful 3-2 victory in New Zealand return to the squad. We want to expand the pool of players who can perform successfully for England, while also helping the team to peak for major tournaments.”

ODI Squad:
Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali , Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Chris Woakes.

T20I Squad:
Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer , Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood.

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular