Rohit Sharma rested and Jasprit Bumrah returns for series against Sri Lanka in January

Sport360 staff 17:24 24/12/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Jasprit Bumrah.

Jasprit Bumrah will make a return to the Indian team at the turn of the year after being named in both T20I and ODI squads for the series against Sri Lanka and Australia respectively in January 2020.

The Indian pace spearhead who suffered a stress fracture in September has returned from rehabilation and is expected to feature for Gujarat in the upcoming round of Ranji Trophy games that start on Wednesday.

Navdeep Saini who made his debut against West Indies at Cuttack on Sunday has been named in the ODI squad. Deepak Chahar was left out of both the limited-overs squads as he continues his recovery from a back injury.

The other medium pacer who misses out due to injury is Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. The 29-year-old swing bowler who also missed the recently concluded series against West Indies, is battling a groin strain.

Hardik Pandya has been named in the India-A squad that will be touring New Zealand. So Kedhar Jadhav retains his spot in the ODI squad.

Opener and vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been rested for the Sri Lanka series as Shikhar Dhawan gets another shot to prove his worth at the top of the order.

India play a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka that starts on January 4.

That will be followed by a three-match ODI series against Aaron Finch’s Australia that commences on January 14.

Squad for Sri Lanka T20Is:
Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer,Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav,Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Washington Sundar

Squad for Australia ODIs:
Virat Kohli (Capt),Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul,Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal,Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini,Jasprit Bumrah,Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular