Cricket World Cup 2019 Extra: Chris Gayle's bizarre innings of big milestone, three reviews and unjust dismissal

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

Chris Gayle‘s innings during West Indies’ match against Australia at the Cricket World Cup 2019 lasted only 17 deliveries but was packed with entertainment.

The 39-year-old put up a brisk 21 runs in a knock that was extremely eventful for a variety of reasons including his feat of reaching a thousand World Cup runs.

Gayle was nearly caught out on two occasions while his short innings featured three reviews, winning two of them and retaining all three.

There were also a few classic strikes to marvel at while his knock was brought to an end rather controversially.

NEARLY CAUGHT TWICE

In the third over, Gayle attempted to cut a short and wide delivery from Mitchell Starc and his shot just about evades Marcus Stoinis who was still able to intercept it and prevent any runs.

Two balls later, a short of a length ball takes off and catches the Windies batsman by surprise. He hangs out his bat and the ball catches an edge but goes over the keeper for four.

THE REVIEWS

The very next ball after he edged for four, the Aussies appeal for a caught behind and the umpire’s finger goes up. There was a definite noise but Gayle reviews the call immediately. He seemed confident of his decision and rightly so. Replays showed that the ball actually grazed off-stump on its way to Alex Carey.

Then, with the final ball of an insane over from Starc, Gayle was rapped on the pads and again the umpire adjudged him to be out. The batsman once more showed no hesitation asking for a review which revealed that the ball was straying down leg.

In Starc’s next over though, he finally got the prized scalp he was after. He caught him lbw and Gayle wasn’t certain this time, consulting with the non-striker before going upstairs for a third time. It was close and Windies retained their review but the umpire’s call stood and the dangerous hitter was sent back to the pavilion.

BIG SHOTS AND MILESTONE

After an over of two reviews and close-calls for Gayle, he went after by striking three fours and picking up a double in his four deliveries he faced.

In the process, Gayle also managed to surpass one thousand World Cup runs and is the only active batsman to have reached the milestone.

UNJUST DISMISSAL

There was nothing wrong with the ball that ultimately saw Starc dismiss Gayle but nonetheless it was a delivery that shouldn’t have counted.

It was later revealed that the ball before the dismissal was an illegal one with Starc massively overstepping his mark. As such, it should’ve been deemed a no-ball with the delivery that Gayle fell victim to becoming a free-hit.

Most popular

Cricket World Cup 2019 moments: Sheldon Cottrell's blinder of a catch in West Indies vs Australia

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
A stunning catch from Sheldon Cottrell.

The Cricket World Cup 2019 has so far lived up to its promise of delivering some special moments on the field. But as it often happens when one team ultimately lifts the trophy, the whole tournament can feel like a bit of a blur.

In an effort to really appreciate these moments whether for their spectacular nature or their meaningfulness, we’ve decided to look at them individually as the competition progresses and package our favourites into one series at the end.

These moments can be anything from a remarkable piece of play or wild celebration to a last-gasp victory or funny occurrence. Really, anything that stands out during this World Cup.

So without further adieu, here’s our latest edition of the series – Sheldon Cottrell’s stunning catch at the boundary to dismiss Australia’s Steve Smith.

WHAT HAPPENED

Australia stalwart Steve Smith and the rest of the spectators at Trent Bridge were left stunned as Cottrell pulled off a blinder of a running catch on the boundary ropes during Thursday’s 2019 ICC World Cup clash.

Smith was batting on 73 at the time when he flicked an Oshane Thomas delivery over backward square-leg in characteristic style. The right-handed batsman connected well and the ball seemed destined to go for a six before Cottrell got there at full pace.

The Windies pacer grabbed the ball cleanly with his left-arm but his momentum was set to take him beyond the boundary ropes. Showing excellent awareness and reflexes, Cottrell tossed the ball into the air before crossing the ropes and then calmly returned to the field in time to complete a brilliant catch.

WHY IT WAS SPECIAL

Pace bowlers are not the most athletic of fielders but Cottrell defied that stereotype with a catch that will make the highlight reels for some time to come.

The left-armed bowler had just bowled the previous over before being deployed to the boundary ropes and could be forgiven for wanting a slight breather. However, he was completely switched on when the moment arrived and displayed excellent awareness, flexibility and athleticism to end the innings of a well-set Smith.

Smith was threatening to step on the gas in the death overs and Cottrell’s catch came at just the right time for Windies in that regard.

England’s Ben Stokes had already set the standard in the tournament opener against South Africa with a stunning one-handed grab on the boundary ropes and Cottrell has now more than matched it with his effort at Trent Bridge.

REACTIONS



Most popular

Cricket World Cup 2019: Mortaza defends Mushfiqur's costly error in Bangladesh's loss to New Zealand

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Mushfiqur gave Williamson a huge let-off in Bangladesh's loss.

Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza has come to the defence of Mushfiqur Rahim after the wicketkeeper’s error gave Kane Williamson a massive reprieve in New Zealand’s two-wicket victory in the 2019 ICC World Cup clash.

With New Zealand chasing 245 for victory at the Oval on Wednesday, Mushfiqur gave Williamson a big let-off in the 12th over when he accidentally broke the stumps with his arms while attempting to run out the Kiwi skipper.

Williamson was well short of his crease as Mushfiqur collected Tamim Iqbal’s throw from mid-on but the wicketkeeper accidentally dislodged the bails before he could effect the run-out. Williamson was still early to the crease when the incident occurred and went on to forge a crucial 105-run stand for the third wicket alongside Ross Taylor.

“I don’t think we need to go after Mushfiqur,” Mortaza said after the team’s loss.

“He was also trying hard to get him out. That throw was straight, but as a keeper it was hard to know if it was straight or not. Suddenly the stumps hit his elbow, but it happens.

“Mushfiqur is a professional player. He knows how to handle all of this. It is not as if this was the first mistake in Mushfiqur’s life. Every player makes mistakes.”

“I don’t think there is a need to create pressure for anyone and neither do I think that he needs to think about this,” the Bangladesh skipper continued.

“If everything goes well in the next match, you will see that everything is fine again.”

The loss was Bangladesh’s first in the tournament after they had earlier stunned South Africa in their campaign opener. The Tigers will next face hosts and favourites England at Taunton on Saturday.

Most popular