India and Pakistan to clash in Dubai as 2018 Asia Cup schedule is released

Sport360 staff 11:40 25/07/2018
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
The two arch-rivals will meet on September 19 at Dubai.

The schedule for the upcoming Asia Cup in the UAE was released by the ICC on Tuesday with the tournament getting underway on September 15 in Dubai.

Arch-rivals India and Pakistan, who have been drawn together in Group A, will go head-to-head on September 19 in the emirate.

The biennial tournament will be a six-team affair with India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan as the confirmed teams. The UAE, Oman, Singapore, Nepal, Malaysia and Honk Kong will battle it out among themselves for the remaining spot in the qualifiers.

The 2018 edition will see the tournament revert to a 50-over format after the 2016 competition was a Twenty20 affair. India clinched the 2016 trophy and come into the tournament as the defending champions.

India were originally slated to host the Asia Cup this year but their ongoing political differences with Pakistan has seen the tournament being shifted to the UAE.

It will be the first time India and Pakistan have clashed since the ICC Champions Trophy final in England last year. Bilateral cricketing ties between the two neighbours has been suspended since 2008 with matches between the sides reduced to multi-team tournaments like the World Cup, World Twenty20 and the Asia Cup.


Sept 15 – Bangladesh v Sri Lanka (Dubai)

Sept 16 – Pakistan v Qualifier (Dubai)

Sept 17 – Sri Lanka v Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Sept 18 – India v Qualifier (Dubai)

Sept 19 – India v Pakistan (Dubai)

Sept 20 – Bangladesh v Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi) Super Four

Sept 21 – Group A Winner v Group B Runner-up (Dubai)

Sept 21 – Group B Winner v Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

Sept 23 – Group A Winner v Group A Runner-up (Dubai)

Sept 23 – Group B Winner v Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

Sept 25 – Group A Winner v Group B Winner (Dubai)

Sept 26 – Group A Runner-up v Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

Sept 28 – Final (Dubai)

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular