Finch appointed as skipper as Australia name T20 squad for Pakistan series

Waseem Ahmed 16:24 05/10/2018
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Aaron Finch (r) will lead the Aussie T20 squad in the UAE.

Aaron Finch was announced as the captain while Mitchell Marsh and Alex Carey were named as vice-captains as Australia revealed its 14-man squad for the upcoming T20 series against Pakistan in the UAE.

Hard-hitting opener Chris Lynn was also named in the Aussie squad while Adam Zampa and Nathan Coulter-Nile made their international returns.

Glenn Maxwell was also included in the T20 squad after cruelly missing out on selection for the Test series against the same opponents. Test specialist Nathan Lyon could feature in his first T20 international since 2016 after being named in the squad.

There was a maiden Australia call-up was handed to Tasmania batsman Ted McDermott for the three-match series that gets underway in Abu Dhabi on October 24.

“Firstly, I’d like to acknowledge Aaron, Mitch and Alex on being announced as the new captain and vice-captains of the Australian T20 squad,” head coach Justin Langer said at the announcement of the squad.

“They are outstanding young men and extremely talented cricketers. To be endorsed by their peers, and to then back it up with powerful presentations, just showcased their leadership qualities and vision for Australian cricket,” Langer added.

The Australia coach lauded the leadership abilities of Finch who is currently the No1 ranked batsman in the T20 format.

“Aaron has already captained Australia in the recent T20s we played in Zimbabwe, and I’ve been extremely impressed with his impact on the Test squad over here in the UAE. We know he’s an exceptional player, and he’s arguably the most in form T20 player in the world at the moment,” he stated.

Most of the Australia squad are already in the UAE where they are preparing for the first of the two Tests against Pakistan which gets underway on Sunday.


Aaron Finch (c), Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular