Akila Dananjaya to play England despite bowling action concerns

Rory Dollard 12:48 13/11/2018
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Akila Dananjaya.

Sri Lanka captain Suranga Lakmal has confirmed Akila Dananjaya will play in the second Test against England despite having his bowling action reported to the International Cricket Council.

Suspicions over Dananjaya’s action were raised in the officials’ report from the first Test in Galle, umpired by Chris Gaffaney and Marais Erasmus.

The 25-year-old bowls a variety of different deliveries, with Lakmal revealing it was his stock off-spinner which was under scrutiny.

He remains eligible to play pending further ICC-approved testing and Lakmal said: “There are no rules from the ICC saying he cannot play – he can still play and he’s in a good mentality, so he will still play the next match and correct his mistake.”

Know more about Sport360 Application

Recommended

Most popular