Sabbir Rahman gets ODI recall as Bangladesh announce squads for New Zealand tour

Sport360 staff 09:12 24/01/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Sabbir Rahman finds a place in the ODI squad.

Batsman Sabbir Rahman was handed an international recall as Bangladesh named their ODI and Test squads for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

The middle-order batman was handed a six-month ban by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) in September last year but it was brought to a premature end to make way for his return to the ODI setup.

Along with Sabbir, pacer Taskin Ahmed too was handed a recall in the ODI squad for the first time since 2017 while also being given a berth in the Test outfit.

Bangladesh chief selector Minhajul Abedin stressed ODI skipper Mashrafe Mortaza’s role in Sabbir’s recall as he announced the touring squads on Wednesday.

“We were informed by the disciplinary committee that he (Sabbir) is available and after we got the clearance we included him in the squad. He is available from January 31 as the committee has reduced his ban by one month,” Abedin was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

“Let me make clear one thing about Sabbir. He was included due to strong insistence of the captain (Mortaza). He firmly requested us to include him, and we have agreed with the captain.

“The team wants someone in the squad who can bat lower in the order with the ability to handle the pacers well. We have included him keeping the New Zealand tour and the World Cup in mind. Let us see what he can do. The captain of the team and we are also confident about him.”

Bangladesh’s tour of New Zealand will begin with a three-match ODI series which will be followed by three Tests. The first ODI between the two sides takes place at Napier on February 13.


Mashrafe Mortaza (Capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman.


Shakib Al Hasan (Capt), Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahim, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Naeem Hasan, Shadman Islam, Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal, Abu Jayed, Taskin Ahmed.

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular