Ex-Sri Lanka players Nuwan Zoysa and Avishka Gunawardene face corruption charges

Sudhir Gupta 10/05/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Nuwan Zoysa.

Former Sri Lankan Test players Nuwan Zoysa and Avishka Gunawardene were slapped with corruption charges and given two weeks to respond, the International Cricket Council announced on Friday.

The charges relate to the T10 league played in the UAE in December.

Zoysa was charged under four counts, including for “being a party to an agreement to influence improperly the result, progress, conduct or other aspects of a match”. The ICC charged Gunawardene on two counts –  one for soliciting a match-fixing breach and the other for failing to inform the ICC Anti-Corruption Unit.

It’s the latest in a long list of match-fixing controversies to hit Sri Lanka in recent months. Three months ago, the ICC banned Sri Lanka’s former skipper and selector Sanath Jayasuriya from all forms of the game for two years for failing to cooperate with anti-corruption investigations.

Also last month, former pacer Dilhara Lokuhettige was suspended over three match corruption accusations.

In December, Sri Lanka’s sports minister Harin Fernando said the country has been rated as ‘the most corrupt cricket nation’ by the ICC.

Most popular

Related Sections

Younis Khan and PCB fail to find agreement over Pakistan U19 coaching role

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Pakistan Test icon Younis Khan.

Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) bid to rope in batting legend Younis Khan in an U19 coaching role has fallen through, partly due to the former batsman’s wage demands.

According to a report by Cricbuzz, the PCB was attempting to bring in Younis as the coach of Pakistan’s U19 team but discussions have now come to a standstill after both parties failed to reach an agreement.

The two sticking points are said to be Younis’s hefty wage demands along with the exact profile of his job. Pakistan’s highest Test run-getter is understood to have wanted a say in team selections as well but the PCB wanted to limit his role to as simply a coach and mentor.

The PCB were seeking to emulate the model adopted by the BCCI which has seen former India stalwart Rahul Dravid take charge of the India A team to groom the upcoming talents in the country.

Younis is Pakistan's highest Test run-scorer.

Younis is Pakistan’s highest Test run-scorer.

Younis was reportedly not a straightforward choice for the PCB given his fractured relationship with the board over the years. PCB Managing Director Wasim Khan is understood to have conducted the discussions with Younis with the last meeting taking place three weeks ago.

Younis is the most prolific Test batsman in Pakistan history with the right-hander amassing 10,099 runs from 118 matches with the help of 34 tons.

The 41-year-old had retired from international cricket in May, 2017 with a final Test appearance against the West Indies.

Most popular

2019 World Cup schedule: When and where to watch matches in the UAE

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • G+
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

The 2019 ICC World Cup is a few weeks away and it promises to be one of the most keenly contested tournaments ever with the top 10 ODI teams fighting it out in England and Wales.

England are the hosts and heavy favourites to lift their first 50-overs world title. Defending champions Australia are getting into form after a tumultuous 2018 while India, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Pakistan are also strong contenders alongside the dangerous Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

Fans in the UAE can catch all the action live on OSN Cric. Below is the schedule of the tournament. All times for UAE:

Thursday, May 30
13:30 England v South Africa, The Oval, London

Friday, May 31
13:30 Windies v Pakistan, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Saturday, June 1
13:30 New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
16:30 Afghanistan v Australia, County Ground, Bristol

Sunday, June 2
13:30 South Africa v Bangladesh, The Oval, London

Monday, June 3
13:30 England v Pakistan, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Tuesday, June 4
13:30 Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

Wednesday, June 5
13:30 South Africa v India, The Rose Bowl, Southampton
16:30 Bangladesh vs New Zealand, The Oval, London

Thursday, June 6
13:30 Australia v Windies, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Friday, June 7
13:30 Pakistan v Sri Lanka, County Ground, Bristol

Saturday, June 8
13:30 England v Bangladesh, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
16:30 Afghanistan v New Zealand, County Ground, Taunton

Sunday, June 9
13:30 India v Australia, The Oval, London

Monday, June 10
13:30 South Africa v Windies, The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Tuesday, June 11
13:30 Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, County Ground, Bristol

Wednesday, June 12
13:30 Australia v Pakistan, County Ground, Taunton

Thursday, June 13
13:30 India v New Zealand, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Friday, June 14
13:30 England v Windies, The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Saturday, June 15
13:30 Sri Lanka v Australia, The Oval, London
16:30 South Africa v Afghanistan, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

Sunday, June 16
13:30 India v Pakistan, Old Trafford, Manchester

Monday, June 17
13:30 Windies v Bangladesh, County Ground, Taunton

Tuesday, June 18
13:30 England v Afghanistan, Old Trafford, Manchester

Wednesday, June 19
13:30 New Zealand v South Africa, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Thursday, June 20
13:30 Australia v Bangladesh, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Friday, June 21
13:30 England v Sri Lanka, Headingley, Leeds

Saturday, June 22
13:30 India v Afghanistan, The Rose Bowl, Southampton
16:30 Windies v New Zealand, Old Trafford, Manchester

Sunday, June 23
13:30 Pakistan v South Africa, Lord’s, London

Monday, June 24
13:30 Bangladesh v Afghanistan, The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Tuesday, June 25
13:30 England v Australia, Lord’s, London

Wednesday, June 26
13:30 New Zealand v Pakistan, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Thursday, June 27
13:30 Windies v India, Old Trafford, Manchester

Friday, June 28
13:30 Sri Lanka v South Africa, Chester-le-Street

Saturday, June 29
13:30 Pakistan v Afghanistan, Headingley, Leeds
16:30 New Zealand v Australia, Lord’s, London

Sunday, June 30
13:30 England v India, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Monday, July 1
13:30 Sri Lanka v Windies, Chester-le-Street

Tuesday, July 2
13:30 Bangladesh v India, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Wednesday, July 3
13:30 England v New Zealand, Chester-le-Street

Thursday, July 4
13:30 Afghanistan v Windies, Headingley, Leeds

Friday, July 5
13:30 Pakistan v Bangladesh, Lord’s, London

Saturday, July 6
13:30 Sri Lanka v India, Headingley, Leeds
16:30 Australia v South Africa, Old Trafford, Manchester

Tuesday, July 9
13:30 First semi-final, Old Trafford, Manchester

Thursday, July 11
13:30 Second semi-final, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Sunday, July 14
13:30 Final, Lord’s, London

Most popular