Steve Smith back in the T20I fold as Australia name squad for Sri Lanka, Pakistan clashes

Sport360 staff 16:29 08/10/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Steve Smith returns to Australia's T20I squad.

Australia have dropped all-rounder Marcus Stoinis and opener D’Arcy Short in the 14-man T20I squad announced on Tuesday for the upcoming home clashes against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The Australian selectors rang in the changes in the squad led by skipper Aaron Finch with wicketkeeper batsman Ben McDermott and pacer Billy Stanlake making their international comebacks.

Australia’s Ashes hero Steve Smith could play his first T20I in more than three years after being named in the squad while there was no place for hard-hitting batsman Chris Lynn. The two three-match series against the subcontinent teams will kick-start Australia’s preparation for the 2020 T20 World Cup to be held on home soil in just over a year.

“It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men’s Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind,” Australia national selector Trevor Hohns was quoted as saying by

“We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament.

“The squad we have selected is quite role specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions.”

Ashes 2019 leading wicket-taker Pat Cummins has been named as the vice-captain of the squad alongside wicketkeeper Alex Carey and he will be joined by Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Stanlake and Andrew Tye in the fast-bowling department.

“Mitchell Starc gives us a left-arm option and has earned a reputation as one of the world’s leading quicks at the top of the innings and at the death,” said Hohns.

“Pat Cummins is a world-class right-arm option and has been in superb form of late. Andrew Tye is a wicket-taking proposition, Billy Stanlake has the X-factor and Kane Richardson has been an excellent short-form player for some time now.”

Justin Langer’s men will first welcome Sri Lanka for a three-match series beginning at Adelaide on October 27 before they take on Pakistan in as many clashes from November 3.

Australia 14-man T20I squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott (wk), Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Australia v Sri Lanka Fixtures

First T20I: Adelaide, October 27

Second T20I: Brisbane, October 30

Third T20I: Melbourne, November 1

Australia v Pakistan Fixtures

First T20I: Sydney, November 3

Second T20I: Canberra, November 5

Third T20I: Perth, November 8

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular