Kane Williamson cleared to bowl again after his action is declared legal by the ICC

Sport360 staff 13:33 01/11/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Kane Williamson can bowl again at the international level.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson’s bowling action has been declared legal by the ICC following a bio-mechanic assessment at the Loughborough University in England.

Williamson was reported for a suspect bowling action earlier this year during New Zealand’s tour of Sri Lanka in August. The Blackcaps captain threw down three overs of his off-spin in the in the Galle Test between the two sides, following which his action was reported by the match officials.

Williamson underwent a bio-mechanic assessment of his bowling action at the ICC-accredited centre in England last month. The results of the test have concluded that his bowling action falls within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted by the ICC’s rules.

Following the ICC verdict on his action, the Kiwi skipper is now permitted to bowl again in international cricket.

Williamson

The Galle Test was the second time in his career that Williamson had been reported for a suspect bowling action. His action first came under the microscope in 2014, following which he had to make some tweaks before being allowed to resume bowling in the same year.

The top-order batsman is currently nursing a hip injury which has ruled him out of the ongoing five-match T20I series between New Zealand and England. The Blackcaps are hopeful that Williamson will be able to regain his fitness in time for the two-Test series against England which begins on November 21/

Know more about Sport360 Application

Recommended

Most popular