Five one-season wonders in the IPL

Aishwaryaa Haridas 12:16 03/04/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Many players have benefited from the Indian Premier League (IPL) and have gone on to represent their national teams in T20 cricket as well as other formats of the game.

    But there have also been one-season wonders who promised a lot but faded away with time.

    Here is a look at five such players.


    Being a part of the team that were crowned champions in the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008, the batsman from Goa made crucial contributions alongside South African southpaw Graeme Smith at the top of the order.


    • Innings: 9
    • Runs: 311
    • Average: 34.55
    • Strike Rate: 133.47

    The opening batsman thrived with the bat in his first season at Rajasthan Royals (RR), adding 418 runs with Smith at an impressive average of 59.18.

    Asnodkar cemented his place in the side in his first match against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) as he scored 60 from 34 balls, hitting 10 fours and one six at a strike rate of 176.47. He was successful in impressing his franchise captain Shane Warne who nicknamed him ‘Goa Cannon’.


    The opening batsman, who represented the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), had a dream IPL season in 2011 when he scored 463 runs in 14 matches, including a highest score of 120 not out. His season statistics consisted of two half-centuries and a century that came against the then defending champions, Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

    Valthaty’s score of 120 not out was the highest individual score in that season even as he was the sixth highest run-scorer overall. Against CSK at Mohali, he smashed 120* off 63 deliveries to help his team chase down a huge total of 189 with six wickets left and five deliveries to spare.

    In the next match against the Deccan Chargers, he contributed not only with the bat (75 off 47 deliveries), but also picked up four wickets, giving away just 29 runs to help Punjab to win by eight wickets.



    • Matches: 43
    • Wickets: 37
    • Average: 33.91
    • Best: 3/31

    Manpreet Gony made an impact when he played for a consistent CSK side in 2008. Sharing the new ball with Makhaya Ntini, he led his side to the final in the first season.

    With his impressive performances, he earned a national call-up but couldn’t continue his good form there.

    But to his credit, he had a memorable IPL season as he picked 17 wickets at an average of 26.05 and an economy rate of 7.38.


    Hailing from the same state as MS Dhoni and sporting the same hairstyle as well, many had huge expectations from Saurabh Tiwary, who went on to don the national colors as well.

    Tiwary had a wonderful 2010 season as he scored 419 runs at a strike-rate of 135.59 that included three half-centuries as well.

    The next year, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) bought him for USD 1.6 million in the auction, but Tiwary couldn’t live up to the hype.

    Even in last year’s edition of the IPL at Rising Pune Supergiant (RPSG), he couldn’t impress after being promoted in the batting order.


    Playing as a replacement for Brad Haddin in 2011 for KKR, Bisla opened the batting with South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis, making a mark early in the tournament.

    But it was in 2012 when Bisla’s real batting prowess was explored when he finished the season with 213 runs, playing just seven games with six catches and two stumpings.

    His  most important innings that season, which also earned him the Man of the Match award, was against two-times defending champions CSK in the final.

    Chasing 191 for victory, it was Bisla’s 48-ball 89, with four fours and five sixes that guided KKR to their first ever IPL title in 2012. He shared a 136-run partnership with Kallis on the night of the final.