PSL 2019: Super AB de Villiers, David Wiese seal dramatic win for Qalandars v Multan

Waseem Ahmed 19:33 22/02/2019
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Ab de Villiers. Image: PSL/Twitter.

AB de Villiers showed he is still the kings of the T20 format as he led Lahore Qalandars to a dramatic six-wicket win in PSL 2019 against Multan Sultans in Sharjah on Friday.

Multan were in the driver’s seat until the final five overs of the match, having reduced Lahore to 131-4 in 15 overs after scoring 200-6.

But ‘Mr 360’ De Villiers (52* off 29 balls, 3 fours, 3 sixes) opened his shoulders and played scoops and glides on either side of the wicket to keep Lahore in the hunt.

South African all-rounder David Wiese provided the perfect impetus, smashing five sixes during a a cracking 45 off just 20 balls.

Lahore needed 25 from the final two overs and De Villiers first deposited Andre Russell to midwicket for a six before Wiese smashed the seamer over fine leg for a maximum.

In the final over, the Qalandars needed 16. Boundaries were hard to come by in the first five balls bowled by veteran seamer Dan Christian. With three needed off the last ball, Wiese spanked the bowler down the ground to secure a sensational victory.

Lahore were kept in the chase by opener Fakhar Zaman who hit 63 off just 35 balls.

Multan had a golden chance to seal the match in the 18th over when Junaid Khan had Wiese caught off a slower ball but it turned out to be a no-ball and the resultant free-hit was hit for a six by De Villiers.

Earlier, Multan Sultans opener James Vince scored a breathtaking 84 from just 41 balls. Englishman Vince went on the offensive from the start. He spared no Lahore bowler, taking particular liking to Nepal spinner Sandeep Lamichhane who ended up conceding 17 runs in his opening over in PSL.

Vince and opener Umar Siddiq (53 off 38) added a superlative 135 for the opening wicket inside 12 overs to set the stage for a gargantuan total in a tournament that has been dominated by bowlers.

Leg-spinner Lamichhane went for 46 runs but pulled things back by picking up the important wickets of Vince, captain Shoaib Malik and Russell to limit the Sultans to 200-6 when a total of 230 seemed on the cards.


Multan Sultans: 200-6

James Vince: 84 (41)

Sandeep Lamichhane: 3-46

Lahore Qalandars: 204-4

Fakhar Zaman: 63 (35)

AB de Villiers: 52* (29)

David Wiese: 45* (20)

Junaid Khan: 3-39

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular