In Focus: Chelsea's Premier League title-winning teams

Sport360 staff 17:25 12/05/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Title teams: The Blues' winning stars.

Chelsea won their fifth Premier League title on Friday night, defeating Tony Pulis’ West Brom at The Hawthorns.

Antonio Conte’s side have held on to top spot since mid-December.

Here, Press Association Sport looks at the other Premier League title-winning Blues sides to see how the current crop compares.

Which side do you remember most?

Share with us your thoughts by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.

2004-05 = 95 POINTS (W29 D8 L1 GF 72 GA 15)

TEAM: Cech; Gallas, Terry, Carvalho, Ferreira; Makelele, Tiago, Lampard; Duff, Drogba, Gudjohnsen.

Jose Mourinho’s first season in English football culminated in a record-breaking season as Chelsea topped the table with 95 points, the greatest ever haul in top-flight history.

It was Mourinho’s defence, comprising of goalkeeper Petr Cech and a back four of William Gallas, PFA Players’ Player of the Year John Terry, Ricardo Carvalho and Paulo Ferreira, that was the real strength of this team as they conceded just 15 times across 38 fixtures, a figure only matched across history by Preston’s 1888-89 team when 16 fewer games were played.

Frank Lampard scored twice at Bolton to clinch the silverware and in Damien Duff, Arjen Robben and Eidur Gudjohnsen, Mourinho’s side possessed plenty of flair too.

BOLTON, ENGLAND - APRIL 30: Frank Lampard, John Terry and Chairman, Roman Abramovich of Chelsea celebrate winning the Premiership after victory over Bolton Wanderers in the Barclays Premiership match between Bolton Wanderers and Chelsea at the Reebok Stadium on April 30, 2005 in Bolton, England. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

Lampard, Terry and Chairman Abramovich celebrate clinching the title.

2005-06 = 91 POINTS (W29 D4 L5 GF 72 GA 22)

TEAM: Cech; Del Horno, Terry, Carvalho, Gallas; Makelele, Essien, Lampard; Robben, Drogba, Cole.

Mourinho’s reigning champions picked up where they left off, winning each of their first nine and dropping just five points in their opening 22 games, at which stage they already had a 16-point advantage over Manchester United, who were beaten on April 29 to ensure the title returned to Stamford Bridge.

It was once more Cech, Terry and Lampard who made up the spine of Mourinho’s team along with Claude Makelele and Didier Drogba, while midfielder Michael Essien’s signing from Lyon was one of the crucial bits of business conducted the previous summer.

London, UNITED KINGDOM: Chelsea supporters scramble to grab Manager Jose Mourinho's winners medal after he tossed it into the crowd during the celebrations after his team won the Premiership trophy after defeating Manchester United to win the Premiership title at Stamford Bridge in London 29 April 2006. Chelsea won the game 3.0. AFP PHOTO ADRIAN DENNIS Mobile and website uses of domestic English football pictures subject to subscription of a license with Football Association Premier League (FAPL) tel : +44 207 298 1656. For newspapers where the football content of the printed and electronic versions are identical, no licence is necessary. (Photo credit should read ADRIAN DENNIS/AFP/Getty Images)

Mourinho tossed his winners’ medal into the crowd.

2009-10 = 86 POINTS (W27 D5 L6 GF 103 GA 32)

TEAM: Cech; Cole, Terry, Carvalho, Ivanovic; Mikel, Ballack, Lampard, Malouda; Drogba, Anelka.

The ‘Special One’ was long gone by the time Chelsea defeated Wigan 8-0 on the final day of the season to lift English football’s leading prize again four years after they had previously done so. Carlo Ancelotti was at the helm and promoted a more attacking style as they became the first side to score over 100 league goals in the Premier League era.

Most of the team was leftover from Mourinho’s time, including Drogba, scorer of 29 league goals, and first-time title winners Ashley Cole, Michael Ballack and Florent Malouda, with Branislav Ivanovic and Nicolas Anelka the only regulars to have arrived after the Portuguese left in 2007.

LONDON, ENGLAND - MAY 09: Carlo Ancelotti manager of Chelsea celebrates with the trophy as they win the title after the Barclays Premier League match between Chelsea and Wigan Athletic at Stamford Bridge on May 9, 2010 in London, England. Chelsea won 8-0 to win the championship. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

A title for Carlo Ancelotti.

2014-15 = 87 POINTS (W26 D9 L3 GF 73 GA 32)

TEAM: Courtois, Azpilicueta, Cahill, Terry, Ivanovic; Matic, Fabregas; Hazard, Oscar, Willian; Costa.

In the second season of Mourinho’s second stint, he won his third and the club’s fourth Premier League crown having only vacated top spot once all term, between their first and third fixtures, after they began with a 14-match unbeaten sequence.

Mourinho promoted promising youngster Thibaut Courtois in favour of Cech as his goalkeeper and acquired Cesc Fabregas and 20-goal striker Diego Costa in the summer having purchased Willian and Nemanja Matic in the previous two windows. He also managed to get the best out of eventual PFA Players’ Player of the Year Eden Hazard.

LONDON, ENGLAND - MAY 24: Cesc Fabregas of Chelsea kisses the trophy in celebration after the Barclays Premier League match between Chelsea and Sunderland at Stamford Bridge on May 24, 2015 in London, England. Chelsea were crowned Premier League champions. (Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

Fabregas was instrumental during the campaign.

2016-17 = 87 POINTS (W28 D3 L5 GF 76 GA 29) *after 36 games

TEAM: Courtois; Cahill, Luiz, Azpilicueta; Alonso, Matic, Kante, Moses; Hazard, Costa, Pedro

After a disastrous title defence in 2015-16 where they finished 10th, the Blues have been led back to the summit by former Italy boss Antonio Conte using many of the players Mourinho had struggled with just last term.

Conte reverted to a 3-4-3 system to kick-start a 13-game winning sequence from October, with Victor Moses, loaned out for three straight years by Mourinho, a key contributor along with summer signings Marcos Alonso and N’Golo Kante.

The rest of the team were regulars under Mourinho apart from the returning David Luiz, who he sold in 2014 after starting him in just 15 Premier League games the previous term.

LONDON, ENGLAND - AUGUST 15: Antonio Conte, Manager of Chelsea celebrates the goal scored by Diego Costa of Chelsea during the Premier League match between Chelsea and West Ham United at Stamford Bridge on August 15, 2016 in London, England. (Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

Conte has been a big hit at Stamford Bridge.

Source: Press Association Sport

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular