Chile's Alexis Sanchez and Wales' Gareth Bale feature in all-star XI team that couldn't qualify for World Cup 2018

Sport360 staff 13:44 11/10/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Alexis Sanchez and Gareth Bale headline a host of big names who will be absent from next summer’s World Cup after their countries failed to qualify for the tournament.

    Here, Press Association Sport picks an all-star XI from the players not on the plane to Russia.

    JAN OBLAK (Slovenia/Atletico Madrid)

    Voted the best goalkeeper in La Liga for the past two years, the 24-year-old’s hopes of appearing at a maiden World Cup were dashed after Slovenia were unable to progress from the qualifying group won by England.

    Jan Oblak

    Jan Oblak.

    ANTONIO VALENCIA (Ecuador/Manchester United)

    A string of consistent performances at right-back led to Valencia being named players’ player of the year at Old Trafford last season but the 32-year-old could not inspire Ecuador to what would have been his third World Cup.

    Antonio Valencia

    Antonio Valencia.

    VIRGIL VAN DIJK (Holland/Southampton)

    Van Dijk has made no secret of his desire to leave St Mary’s but, if he is still there next June, he will miss the opportunity to showcase his talents on the biggest stage following Holland’s third-placed finish in UEFA qualifying Group A.

    Virgil Van Dijk

    Virgil Van Dijk.

    GARY MEDEL (Chile/Besiktas)

    The former Sevilla and Inter Milan man wears his heart on his sleeve and is an influential figure for his country, but was unable to lead them to qualification as they missed out on the four automatic places and were edged out of the play-off spot by Peru.

    Gary Medel

    Gary Medel.

    DAVID ALABA (Austria/Bayern Munich)

    A winner of six Bundesliga titles and the Champions League, Alaba’s international career has been less illustrious with Austria’s abysmal Euro 2016 campaign his only experience of a major tournament.

    David Alaba

    David Alaba.

    NABY KEITA (Guinea/RB Leipzig)

    The Liverpool-bound midfielder will be fresh when he arrives at Anfield next summer after Guinea could not qualify from a group containing Tunisia, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Libya.

    Naby Keita (R)

    Naby Keita (R).

    ARTURO VIDAL (Chile/Bayern Munich)

    The key midfielder, who starred in the last two World Cups, was suspended for Chile’s final qualifier against Brazil and watched on powerless from Munich as his team were eliminated.

    Arturo Vidal

    Arturo Vidal.

    GARETH BALE (Wales/Real Madrid)

    It has been a positive few years for Wales but the Euro 2016 semi-finalists were pipped to a play-off spot by the Republic of Ireland, meaning Bale’s wait for a first World Cup goes on.

    Gareth Bale

    Gareth Bale.

    ARJEN ROBBEN (Holland/Bayern Munich)

    A veteran of three World Cups, Robben announced his retirement from international football shortly after scoring twice against Sweden in the final match of Holland’s unsuccessful qualification campaign.

    Arjen Robben

    Arjen Robben.

    ALEXIS SANCHEZ (Chile/Arsenal)

    Chile suffered last-minute heartbreak as they were pushed out of a play-off place when Peru equalised against Colombia, meaning the Arsenal star will not be sprinting up the flanks for La Roja in Russia.

    Alexis Sanchez

    Alexis Sanchez.

    PIERRE-EMERICK AUBAMEYANG (Gabon/Borussia Dortmund)

    Gabon have never qualified for the World Cup and the African country’s shortage of top-class players means talented forward Aubameyang may never have the opportunity to play at one.

    Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

    Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.


    Jasper Cillessen (Holland/Barcelona)
    Daley Blind (Holland/Manchester United)
    Miralem Pjanic (Bosnia and Herzegovina/Juventus)
    Marek Hamsik (Slovakia/Napoli)
    Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Armenia/Manchester United)
    Riyad Mahrez (Algeria/Leicester)
    Edin Dzeko (Bosnia and Herzegovina/Roma)

    * Provided by Press Association Sport