Flashback: The past 11 ADGC winners and how they won it

Sport360 staff 17:50 18/01/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Abu Dhabi champions from yesteryear.

Held annually since 2006, the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship has become the one of the most prestigious events on the European Tour.

While the 2017 edition of the competition is fast-approaching, we take a look at the winners since its first edition that took place in 2006.

Who do you think will win this year?

Share with us your thoughts by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.


Winner: Rickie Fowler

Winning score: -16 (70-68-65-69)

Runner-up: Thomas Pieters (-15).

Two magical shots summed up Fowler’s Sunday – a holed bunker shot for eagle on the eighth hole after a double on the seventh, and when his rivals were turning on the heat, a chipped-in birdie on the 17th as he won in only his second start.


Winner: Gary Stal

Winning score: -19 (68-69-67-65)

Runner-up: Rory McIlroy (-18).

The edition will forever be known as the one Martin Kaymer lost. The German was leading by 10 shots after five holes on Sunday before a dramatic collapse saw him finish third.


Winner: Pablo Larrazabal

Winning score: -14 (69-70-68-67)

Runner-up: Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson (-13).

For the third successive year, the favourites were upstaged as Larrazabal drained a five-footer birdie putt on the final hole to triumph.


Winner: Jamie Donaldson

Winning score: -14 (67-70-69-68)

Runner-up: Justin Rose and Thorbjorn Olesen (-13).

McIlroy and Tiger Woods both missed the cut (Woods after a penalty). Donaldson took full advantage, winning despite a bogey on the last hole.


Winner: Robert Rock

Winning score: -13 (69-70-66-70)

Runner-up: Rory McIlroy (-12).

Woods made his debut in Abu Dhabi and almost won but for a poor final round. It was England’s Rock who chalked a famous win one ahead of McIlroy, with Woods finishing tied third.


Winner: Martin Kaymer

Winning score: -24 (67-65-66-66)

Runner-up: Rory McIlroy (-16).

Germany’s Kaymer recorded his most dominating Abu Dhabi win. His lowest round during the tournament was a 67 and he beat McIlroy by eight shots.


Winner: Martin Kaymer

Winning score: -21 (67-67-67-66)

Runner-up: Ian Poulter (-20).

Poulter made a spirited charge to prevent Kaymer from winning the Falcon Trophy a second time, but did not make a single birdie in his last seven holes.


Winner: Paul Casey

Winning score: -21 (69-65-63-70)

Runner-up: Martin Kaymer and Louis Oosthuizen (-20).

The Englishman survived a strong finish from Kaymer (67) and Oosthuizen (64). Casey had led by six shots making the turn on the final day.


Winner: Martin Kaymer

Winning score: -15 (66-65-68-74)

Runner-up: Henrik Stenson and Lee Westwood (-11).

A year after finishing as Rookie of the Year, Kaymer won his first European Tour title. Not even a shaky final round 74 could stop him.


Winner: Paul Casey

Winning score: -17 (71-68-67-65)

Runner-up: Peter Hanson and Miguel Angel Jimenez (-16).

Paul Casey closed with a superb round of seven-under par 65 and stole the limelight from Hanson and Jimenez. Both shot 68, but were upstaged by Casey.


Winner: Chris DiMarco

Winning score: -20 (71-67-63-67)

Runner-up: Henrik Stenson (-19).

Having lost the 2005 Masters in a play-off to Woods, DiMarco was a big name. The American denied Stenson, who shot a course-record 62 on Saturday

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular