Former Masters champion Sergio Garcia was disqualified from the inaugural Saudi International on Saturday.
The Spaniard began his third round on one under par after opening the tournament with rounds of 69 and 70. He added a 71 on day three but was disqualified and will miss out on Sunday’s final round.
The world No27 is believed to have damaged a few greens at the Royal Greens Golf Club, slamming his putter in frustration.
Garcia thus became the first player on the European Tour to be disqualified under Rule 1.2a, which deals with serious misconduct.
Garcia apologised for his behaviour and said in a statement : “I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.”
Know more about Sport360 Application