Arsene Wenger leaves Arsenal with Champions League record intact

Nick Watkins - Writer 00:00 06/05/2018
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Record breakers: Arsenal hold a Champions League record

    Arsenal failed to lift the Champions League trophy during Arsene Wenger’s 22-year reign at the club, but he does leave the club with an impressive European record.

    The Gunners hold the record for the most consecutive minutes without conceding a goal in the Champions League. Wenger’s men went a staggering 995 minutes (10 clean sheets) without letting in a goal between 27/09/2005–17/05/2006. The Londoners reached the final of the competition in 2006 where they finally conceded to Barcelona, as striker Samuel Eto’o struck in the 76th minute. Agonisingly for Wenger, whose side had taken the lead through Sol Campbell, Barcelona added second just four minutes later and went on to win the game 2-1.

    The Gunners only conceded 4 goals the entire tournament that year and still failed to lift the trophy. They leaked goals in the first two group stage games, conceding a goal against both FC Thun and Ajax. During the campaign, goalkeeper Jens Lehman remained unbeaten for an impressive 853 minutes between 18/10/2005–13/09/2006. In the 2006 final itself, Lehmann was sent off in the first half and Arsenal played the remainder of the game with 10 men.

    Most consecutive minutes without conceding in UEFA Champions League …

    By a goalkeeper

    853: Jens Lehmann (Arsenal, 18/10/2005–13/09/2006)
    737: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid , 26/11/2014–06/04/2016)
    658: Edwin van der Sar (Ajax, 27/09/1995–03/04/1996)
    623: Dida (AC Milan, 02/11/2004–04/05/2005)
    600: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, 22/11/2016–09/05/2017)

    By a club

    995: Arsenal (27/09/2005–17/05/2006)
    690: Juventus (22/11/2016–09/05/2017)
    686: Chelsea (03/10/2007–02/04/2008)
    658: Ajax (27/09/1995–03/04/1996)
    623: AC Milan (02/11/2004–04/05/2005)

    Most consecutive clean sheets in UEFA Champions League

    10: Arsenal (18/10/2005–25/04/2006)
    7: AC Milan (24/11/2004–26/04/2005)
    6: Ajax (18/10/1995–20/03/1996)
    6: Chelsea (24/10/2007–05/03/2008)
    6: Juventus (07/12/2016–03/05/2017)
    6: Panathinaikos FC (01/11/1995–03/04/1996)

    Octo Finissimo Automatic A Third World Record for Bulgari

    Bulgari is once again the spotlight, proudly presenting its third successive world record.

    The Octo Finissimo Automatic is the slimmest ultra-thin self-winding watch on the market to date.

    After introducing its Tourbillon in 2014 and the Minute Repeater in 2016, the Maison unveils its new creation featuring a total thickness of just 5.15mm, while its self-winding movement is just 2.23mm thick for a 40mm diameter.

    The iconic Octo is once again pushing the boundaries of watchmaking feasibility.

    Bulgari-Finissimo-Octo-5Bulgari-Finissimo-Octo-3 (1)