Wallabies drop Matt Toomua with Bernard Foley to start at fly-half against Argentina in Salta

Alex Broun 20:59 04/10/2018
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Bernard Foley is back at No10 for the Wallabies against Argentina

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made one personnel change and one positional switch to his starting fifteen ahead of Australia’s Test against Argentina in Salta early Sunday morning (UAE time).

Bernard Foley will return to flyhalf for his first Test start since the second Bledisloe Cup Test in Auckland back in August with Kurtley Beale shifting to inside centre.

Matt Toomua has been named on an extended bench for his last game before returning to club duties in England at the conclusion of the international window.

The Leicester playmaker is ineligible for the third Bledisloe Cup Test in Japan but may be selected for the upcoming Spring Tour of Wales, Italy and England.

Hooker Tolu Latu has also earned a re-call for a spot amongst the reserves, in what could be his first Test since the opening Bledisloe Cup clash in Sydney.

The extended bench will be trimmed to eight on Friday after the team travels to Salta, in Argentina’s north-west, from their current base in Buenos Aires.

Argentina won the last meeting between the two sides 23-19 on the Gold Coast last month, to break a five-match win streak for Australia.

Saturday’s clash in Salta will also be the first Test between the Wallabies and Pumas at Padre Ernesto Maltearena Stadium which sits 1,152 metres above sea level.

Qantas Wallabies team to play Argentina at Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium, Salta on Saturday October 6, 7.45pm local time (Sunday 02.45am UAE Time)

  1. Scott Sio (50 Tests)
  2. Folau Faingaa (4 Tests)
  3. Taniela Tupou (7 Tests)
  4. Izack Rodda (12 Tests)
  5. Adam Coleman (27 Tests)
  6. Ned Hanigan (16 Tests)
  7. Michael Hooper (c) (86 Tests)
  8. David Pocock (73 Tests)
  9. Will Genia (95 Tests)
  10. Bernard Foley (63 Tests)
  11. Marika Koroibete (16 Tests)
  12. Kurtley Beale (79 Tests)
  13. Reece Hodge (32 Tests)
  14. Israel Folau (68 Tests)
  15. Dane Haylett-Petty (26 Tests)


  1. Tolu Latu (8 Tests)
  2. Sekope Kepu (98 Tests)
  3. Allan Alaalatoa (28 Tests)
  4. Rob Simmons (89 Tests)
  5. Rory Arnold (18 Tests)
  6. Caleb Timu (2 Tests)
  7. Nick Phipps (68 Tests)
  8. Matt Toomua (38 Tests)
  9. Tom Banks (2 Tests)

*one to be omitted

Rugby Championship – Wallabies matches

Wallabies 13 v New Zealand 38 at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, Saturday 18 August

New Zealand 40 v Wallabies 12 at Eden Park, Auckland, Saturday 25 August

Wallabies 23 v South Africa 18 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Saturday 8 September

Wallabies 19 v 23 Argentina at Cbus Super Stadium, Gold Coast, Saturday 15 September

South Africa 23 v 12 Wallabies at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth, Sunday 30 September

Argentina v Wallabies at Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium, Salta, Sunday 7 October 02.40 UAE Time

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular

Related Sections