Karolina Pliskova breaks umpire's chair in racquet rage, loses to Maria Sakkari after controversial call

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Pliskova slammed her racquet against the umpire's chair multiple times.

Karolina Pliskova is facing a significant fine after the Czech ex-world No. 1 broke the umpire’s chair in a racquet-slamming rage, following her second round defeat to Maria Sakkari in Rome.

Late in the third set, with the Czech serving at 6-3, 3-6, 5-5, 40/40, Pliskova had an overhead incorrectly called out and both the line judge and the umpire, Marta Mrozinska, said they could not find the mark.

Replays on TV showed that Pliskova’s ball was in but the umpire, having lost the mark, used her judgment to call it out and give a break point to Sakkari.

Pliskova called for the supervisor, who sided with Mrozinska.

A fuming Pliskova then netted a forehand to get broken right away and Sakkari served out the match in the next game to upset the No. 6 seed 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 and reach the third round.

After shaking Sakkari’s hand, Pliskova approached the umpire’s chair, but instead of shaking her hand, she slammed her racquet multiple times, breaking the umpire’s chair.

The consequences of the incident remain unclear but Pliskova, despite being obviously robbed of that point, will no doubt receive a hefty fine.

More to follow…

Know more about Sport360 Application

Recommended

Most popular

Related Sections