IN PICS: The 2016 ICC Award winners

Sport360 staff 12:20 22/12/2016

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin was named as the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricketer of the Year for 2016 on Thursday.

Ashwin also won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award. During the time period, i.e 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016, the Tamil Nadu all-rounder bagged two Man of the Series awards in Test cricket [against South Africa and the West Indies].

Across the three formats of the game, Ashwin played 30 international matches during the considered time period. He scored 394 runs at an average of 35.81 and took 78 wickets at an average of 16.70.

Ashwin thanked his team-mates while dedicating the award to his family. He is the third Indian to be named the ICC Cricketer of the Year after Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar.

“There are a lot of people to thank for this wonderful achievement I have made. It has been a great couple of years but this year has been even more special,” said the Indian off-spinner.

“What is very noticeable is the way I have bowled and batted and the way I have gone about doing my business. What is more important, as far as I am concerned, is the number of people who have gone behind my success.

“I’d like to dedicate this award to my family. I’d like to thank ICC and most importantly my team-mates. I’d also like to thank the support staff for our success.


  • Matches - 8
  • Runs - 336
  • Wickets - 48
  • Bat Avg - 42.00, Bowl Avg - 15.39

“We’ve had a great transition ever since Mahendra Singh Dhoni hung up his boots. A young captain has taken over, we fell on the right track, and we now have a new bunch of boys.”

South Africa’s Quinton de Kock bagged the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award. During the window, the wicket-keeper batsman scored 793 runs at an average of 56.64 and a strike rate of 97.42, including four centuries in the 50-over format.

West Indies’ Carlos Brathwaite won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award for his stupendous showing in the ICC World T20 final against England. After picking up three wickets with the ball, he hit four consecutive sixes in the final over of the match to hand the Caribbean side their second World T20 title.

Surprisingly, England’s Joe Root did not win any individual award despite being the top run-scorer in both Tests and ODIs during the time period.

You can find all the award winners in the gallery above.