Vincenzo Nibali headlines star-studded list of cyclists at Dubai Tour

Aditya Devavrat 19:18 31/01/2018
Vincenzo Nibali is the headline name at the Dubai Tour.

Some of the world’s leading cyclists are set to descend on the UAE for the Dubai Tour, which starts on Tuesday.

German Marcel Kittel, who has won the last two editions of the five-stage race and holds the record with eight stage wins across three editions, is among the star attractions, although the headline name is surely Vincenzo Nibali. The Italian won the 2014 Tour de France and the 2010 Vuelta a Espana, and has won his home Grand Tour, the Giro d’Italia, twice.

The race, which will begin from Skydive Dubai, will also feature former Dubai Tour winner Mark Cavendish, and Dutchman Dylan Groenewegen. Groenewegen stood on the podium on every day of the Dubai Tour last year, and will be looking to build upon on his third-place finish from 2017.

Among the other headline names are current European road champion Alexander Kristoff of Norway, Italians Elia Viviani and Giacomo Nizzolo, Frenchman Nacer Bouhanni, German puncheur John Degenkolp, and Irish all-rounder Nicolas Roche.


Most popular

Related Sections