IN PICS: All 25 Dubai Duty Free winners

Sport360 staff 23:08 22/02/2017

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships has been held every year since 1993 and in 2017, it will be celebrating its 25th Anniversary.

The Championship has gone from strength to strength and made every year a special one for the fans.

Here, we bring you the Men’s winners from each year.

Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal all feature in the list.

1993 – Karel Novacek

Czech Karel Nováček defeated France international Fabrice Santoro 6–4, 7–5 to win the inaugural Dubai Duty Free Tennis Men’s Singles Championship.

1994 – Magnus Gustaffson

Sweden’s Magnus Gustaffson put on a show to take home the title with 6-4, 6-2 set wins against Spain’s Sergi Bruguera.

1995 – Wayne Ferreira

South Africa’s Wayne Ferreira took the Mens singles title, with a 6-3, 6-3 win against Italy’s Andrea Gaudenzi.

1996 – Goran Ivanisevic

Croatian Goran Ivanisevic beat Albert Costa 6-4, 6-3 ton clinch the fourth Dubai Duty Championship crown.

1997 – Thomas Muster

Thomas Muster, who was also known as the ‘King of Clay’ beat last year’s winner Goran Ivanišević, 7-5, 7-6 to take home the title.

1998 – Alex Corretja

It was Alex Corretja who became the first Spaniard ton win the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championship, defeating Felix Mantilla 7-6, 6-1.

1999 – Jerome Golmard

France’s Jerome Golmard reigned supreme in a 6-4, 6-2 win over Nicolas Kiefer in the finals.

2000 – Nicolas Kiefer

Nicolas Kiefer denied the odds this year to seal a three-set thriller over Juan Carlos Ferrero.

2001 – Juan Carlos Ferrero

Juan Carlos Ferrero didn’t get demoralised by last year’s final loss and bounced back to defeat Marat Safin 6-2, 3-1 (retired).

2002 – Fabrice Santoro

A three set game in the final saw Fabrice Santoro defeat Younes El Aynaoui. It ended 6–4, 3–6, 6–3 in Santoro’s favour.

2003 – Roger Federer

Roger Federer won the first of his Dubai Duty Free Championship, defeating Jiri Novak 6-1, 7-6 in straight sets.

2004 – Roger Federer

Federer successfully defended his title with a 4-6, 6-1, 6-2 victory over Feliciano López, in the finals.

2005 – Roger Federer

A hat-trick of Dubai Duty Free Championship titles, as he beat Ivan Ljubicic in a three-setter.

2006 – Rafael Nadal

Spaniard Rafael Nadal claimed a 2–6, 6–4, 6–4 victory over Federer in the finals.

2007 – Roger Federer

Federer was back to winning ways at Dubai Duty Free with a 6-4, 6-3 win over Mikhail Youzhny in the finals.

2008 –  Andy Roddick

Andy Roddick emerged victorious in 2008 with 6-7, 6-4, 6-2 win in the finals against Feliciano López.

2009 – Novak Djokovic

The Serbian international won his first Dubai crown with a win over David Ferrer in straight sets.

2010 – Novak Djokovic

Djokovic won his second Dubai title and retained his crown with a final win over Mikhail Youzhny.

2011 – Novak Djokovic

Djokovic reigned supreme over maestro Roger Federer with a 6–3, 6–3 win to make it a hat-trick.

2012 – Roger Federer

Defeating Andy Murray in straight sets, 7-5, 6-4 saw Federer reach his fifth Dubai Duty Free title.

2013 – Novak Djokovic

A 7-5, 6-3 win in the finals against Tomas Berdych gave Novak Djokovic another victory at Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships.

2014 – Roger Federer

Although Berdych gave him a tough fight, Federer couldn’t be stopped from getting his sixth Dubai Duty Free Title.

2015 – Roger Federer

His seventh Dubai Duty Free Championship win, almost surreal, but Federer defeated Djokovic 6–3, 7–5 in the final.

2016 – Stan Wawrinka

Swiss international Stanislas Wawrinka beat Marcos Baghdatis 6-4, 7-6 to win the last edition.