Real Madrid sweep Globe Soccer Awards as Ronaldo, Zidane win

Sport360 staff 01:23 29/12/2017

Cristiano Ronaldo capped off a golden year on Thursday night, winning his fourth Dubai Globe Soccer Awards Player of the Year Award in a glittering ceremony at Madinat Jumeirah Dubai.

And in a Real Madrid hat-trick, the team also collected the Club of the Year Award while coach Zinedine Zidane was named Coach of the Year.

Ronaldo, who for the fifth time running was the top scorer in the Champions League and finished the year with another title after scoring the winning goal in the FIFA Club World Cup in Abu Dhabi, triumphed over a stellar field.

The Portuguese beat several big names to the award including rival and Barcelona star Lionel Messi and the heir apparent for the title of the world’s best player, Brazil and Paris Saint Germain star Neymar.

Gianluigi Buffon, Paulo Dybala, Sergio Ramos and Kylian Mbappe were also among the nominees.

Ronaldo was unable to attend the gala, but sent his message of thanks over a live video link.

With Real Madrid taking Club of the Year it was no real surprise then that the man who has steered them to so many titles would win Coach of the Year. Zidane picked up his first Dubai Globe Soccer Awards title, having picked up the FIFA Best Men’s Coach Award in October.

In his first two seasons as manager, Zidane won the Champions League twice, a La Liga title, a Supercopa de España title, the UEFA Super Cup twice and FIFA Club World Cup twice.

Zidane was selected for the Award ahead of Chelsea’s Antonio Conte, Manchester United’s José Mourinho and Massimiliano Allegri of Juventus.

What did you make of the awards night?

Share with us your thoughts by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.

Winners of the 2016 Globe Soccer Awards are:

Best Player of the year: CRISTIANO RONALDO

Best Club of the year: REAL MADRID

Coach Career Award: MARCELLO LIPPI

Best Coach of the year: ZINEDINE ZIDANE

Best Referee of the year: FELIX BRYCH

Best Agent of the year: JORGE MENDES

Master Coach Special Award: DIEGO SIMEONE

Sport Business Award: FERRAN SORIANO

Kooora Best Arab National Team of the year: SAUDI ARABIA

Kooora Best Arab National Team Coach of the year: HECTOR CUPER (EGYPT)



Most popular