From Dravid to Ponting - ICC Cricketer of the Year award winners

Sport360 staff 16:09 22/12/2016
A look back at the greats of the game to have won the award.

On Thursday, the 2016 ICC Awards were announced with India’s Ravichandran Ashiwn landing the ICC Cricketer of the Year award.

In the process, Ashwin became the third Indian cricketer after legendary batsmen Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar to win the award. Incidentally, Dravid was also the first recipient of the award when it was introduced in 2004.

Former Australian cricketers Ricky Ponting and Mitchell Johnson are the only two players to have won the award multiple times. Ponting won it in consecutive years – 2006 and 2007, while Johnson was considered the best cricketer in 2009 and 2014.

The award was shared once, between South Africa’s Jacques Kallis and England’s Andrew Flintoff in 2005.

Unsurprisingly, Australia have had the most success when it comes to this accolate – with cricketers from Down Under winning it six times.

Big names to have not won the award include AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Younis Khan, Virat Kohli and Alastair Cook.

You can find year-by-year winners of the award in the gallery above.