IN PICS: All-time IPL XI

Aishwaryaa Haridas 15:28 03/04/2017

The 10th season of the IPL is upon us and over the years, we’ve seen some of the best talent from across the cricketing world take part in the franchise-based T20 league.

Do you agree with our all-time IPL XI?

Share with us your thoughts by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.

Chris Gayle

Bought by the Royal Challengers Bangalore [RCB] to replace an injured Dirk Nannes, Gayle turned around the franchise’s fortunes when he single-handedly won games in 2011. In both 2011 and 2012, he won the Orange Cap scoring 733 runs and 708 runs respectively.

In 2013, he smashed 175 not out against Pune Warriors India making it the highest ever individual score in the IPL. In 92 matches, he has notched up 3426 runs at an average of 43.36 including five 100s and 20 half-centuries.

Rohit Sharma

The Mumbai Indians captain’s elegant batting combined with shrewd captaincy has resulted in two IPL trophies for the team. He also played an important part in Deccan Chargers’ victory in 2009.

He is one of the two players (Yusuf Pathan being the other) to have won the IPL three times for two different teams. Rohit has played 142 matches and hit 3874 runs at an average of 33.68, including 29 50s and a hundred.

Suresh Raina

The swashbuckling southpaw was instrumental in many of Chennai Super Kings’ victories, both with bat and ball. Known to bat well in pressure matches, he has been part of two IPL victories. He has reached the playoffs in all nine seasons so far, captaining Gujarat Lions in the previous IPL.

Raina had the unique record of not missing a single match for CSK and also was the first batsman to reach 2000, 2500 and 3000 IPL runs. Having played 147 matches, Raina has scored 4098 runs at an average of 33.59 which included 28 50s and a hundred.

Virat Kohli

IPL 2016 was Kohli’s season as he was in a rich vein of form hitting four centuries and scoring close to 1000 runs (973). After taking over RCB’s captaincy, his performance graph has increased. He has alconsistently helped the Bengaluru-based team to reach the playoffs from impossible situations, but the coveted cup has evaded him so far.

He is the highest run-getter of all time in the IPL and won the Orange Cap last season. Kohli averages 38.05 in 139 matches, scoring 4110 runs with four 100s and 26 50s.

AB de Villiers

The hard-hitting batsman from South Africa, de Villiers donned Delhi Daredevils’ colours before joining RCB. The best memory of de Villiers in the IPL was when he took on compatriot Dale Steyn in 2012 and 2014 and snatched victory from the jaws of defeat.

Having played 120 matches, de Villiers has three hundreds and 21 50s at an average of 39.24 scoring 3257 runs.

Shane Watson

After playing for Rajasthan Royals since 2008, the Australian represented RCB at last year’s tournament. The talented all-rounder has helped win many a match for the two teams over the years.

In 94 matches, he has hit two hundreds and 14 50s while picking up 81 wickets in the process.

MS Dhoni (C, WK)

Dhoni is one of the most experienced T20 players in India and his records are a testament to that statement. Having led CSK into the final four for eight seasons successively, he also helped them win two IPL trophies under his captaincy.

Dhoni’s innings in Dharamsala against Kings XI Punjab in 2010 helped CSK qualify for the semi-finals and then ultimately win the IPL, remains one of the best knocks the IPL has witnessed. In 143 matches, he has scored 3271 runs, at an average of 39.40 taking 66 catches with 27 stumpings.

Ravichandran Ashwin

The Chennai off-spinner’s journey to the Indian team started from the IPL. He has many variations under his belt, with the carrom ball being the most famous out of them.

Ashwin evolved into a fine bowler and sometimes even opened the bowling for CSK with his ability to choke runs during the powerplay. In 111 matches, he has picked 100 wickets at an economy rate of 6.55 and an average of 25.

Amit Mishra

The Haryana leg-spinner has been consistently among the wickets in India’s biggest T20 league. He is always in the race to win the Purple Cap and has also picked up three hat-tricks, the most by any bowler in the history of IPL.

After being part of Deccan Chargers, he now represents Delhi Daredevils. In 112 matches, he has picked 124 wickets averaging 23.53 at an economy of 7.27, with 5/17 being his best bowling figures.

Lasith Malinga

The yorker specialist of the Mumbai Indians is a threat for the opposition both upfront and in the death overs. He won the Purple Cap in 2011 and his different action is difficult to counter and that has resulted in many Mumbai victories over the years.

Malinga has won two IPL titles and in 98 matches, he has picked 143 wickets at an average of 17.80, with his best figures being 5/13.

Ashish Nehra

Although he has been plagued by injury troubles regularly in his career, Nehra has always made good contributions to the teams that he has represented.

In 82 matches, he has picked 98 wickets at an average of 23.44, with his best being 4/10.