Men’s winners in the 2015–16 PSA World Series

Sport360 staff 06:49 04/05/2016

The PSA World Series 2015–16 is a series of squash tournaments which are part of the Professional Squash Association (PSA) World Tour.

The PSA World Series tournaments are some of the most prestigious events on the men’s and women’s tour, with the best-performing players in the World Series events qualifying for the annual PSA World Series Finals.

Here, Sport360 presents the winners of the PSA World Series 2015-16 on their road to compete in the grand finale in Dubai.

US OPEN 2015 – October 10–17, 2015

Men’s Champion – Gregory Gaultier (France)

Runner-up – Omar Mosaad (Egypt)

Gregory Gaultier, 32, defeated Omar Mosaad in the final of the 2015 PSA Men’s World Squash Championship in Bellevue, Washington. The French star thrashed the Egyptian in three straight sets 11-6, 11-3, 11-5 to claim an easy victory.

QATAR CLASSIC 2015 – October 31 – November 6, 2015

Men’s Champion – Mohamed El Shorbagy

Runners-up – Gregory Gaultier (France)

Elshorbagy claimed a second consecutive Qatar Classic title with a 3-1 (11-5, 11-7, 5-11, 12-10) triumph over World No.3 Gregory Gaultier of France, to avenge his defeat to the Frenchman at the semi-final stage of the U.S. Open.

HONG KONG OPEN 2015 – December 1–6, 2015

Men’s Champion – Mohamed El Shorbagy

Runners-up – Cameron Pilley (Australia)

Elshorbagy successfully defended his crown at the 2015 Cathay Pacific Sun Hung Kai Financial Hong Kong Open, hammering surprise title-challenger Cameron Pilley of Australia 3-0 (11-8, 11-6, 11-8) in front of a capacity crowd at the Hong Kong Squash Centre.


Men’s Champion – Mohamed El Shorbagy

Runner-up – Nick Matthew (England)

World No.1 Elshorbagy continued his dominance over England’s Nick Matthew in the final of the 2016 Men’s J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions to defend his crown in a nail-biting, 93-minute extravaganza that ended with a 3-2 (8-11, 11-6, 11-8, 6-11, 11-6) triumph.

WINDY CITY OPEN 2016 – February 25 – March 2, 2016

Men’s Champion – Mohamed El Shorbagy

Runners-up – Nick Matthew (England)

Elshorbagy claimed his fourth World Series title in a row after opponent Nick Matthew retired in the third game due to a hip injury. Matthew was seen struggling from the beginning of the match and was forced to quit with Elshorbagy 11-6, 11-3, 1-0 up.

BRITISH OPEN 2016 – March 21–27, 2016

Men’s Champion – Mohamed El Shorbagy

Runners-up – Ramy Ashour (Egypt)

Elshorbagy, 25, beat a below-par Ramy Ashour, the former world champion, in straight games as Egypt produced a clean sweep of finalists for the first time in the event. The world No. 1 got the better of his Egyptian compatriot in a 3-0 (11-25, 11-5, 11-9) triumph in 28 minutes.


Men’s Champion – Mohamed Elshorbagy (Egypt)

Runners-up – Gregory Gaultier (France)

Local hero Elshorbagy swept to a sixth successive World Series title with a 3-2 victory over Gaultier in Egypt. Elshorbagy delighted the onlookers in the Red Sea resort as he produced a remarkable comeback, fighting back from 2-0 down to see off Gaultier in an enthralling 90-minute battle to take the crown.