Ronaldo, Messi, Neuer up for Ballon d'Or

Sport360 staff 22:47 01/12/2014
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
Thee top guns: Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer are the contenders for FIFA World Player of the Year.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who have between them been named the world's best footballer for each of the past six years, face opposition from Germany's World Cup winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer in the shortlist for the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or award.

Ball: Messi, Madrid soar but off-field issues plague La Liga

#360win: Adidas Body Care Champions League goodies

VIDEO: Cristiano Ronaldo gets that festive feeling for Christmas
#360stats: Facts and figures for Premier League midweek games

Ronaldo, who is the present holder of the title having also won it in 2008, scored a record 17 goals in a Champions League campaign as Real Madrid went on to win their 10th European Cup last term.

Messi, the only player to have won the award four times, failed to win a title this year either with Barcelona or Argentina, although he was integral in his country reaching the World Cup final, where they lost 1-0 in extra-time to Germany.

The 27-year-old did pick up the consolation of player of the tournament.

Neuer, who was outstanding in goal for Germany and for Bayern Munich as they won the domestic double, would be only the second goalkeeper to win the award, which is announced on January 12 in Zurich, after the then Soviet Union's Lev Yashin.

Coach of the year is to be fought out between Neuer's national coach Joachim Loew, Ronaldo's boss Carlo Ancelotti and Diego Simeone, who guided the far less moneyed Atletico Madrid to the Spanish title and the final of the Champions League.

The trio selected for the Puskas Award for best goal are Colombia's James Rodriguez, for his goal against Uruguay in the 2-0 victory in their World Cup last 16 clash, Robin van Persie's leaping header against Spain in their World Cup group game and outsider, Irish female player Stephanie Roche for her goal for Peamount United against Wexford Youths in October 20, 2013.

Roche doesn't make the women's Player of the Year shortlist, which consists of Brazil's five-time winner Marta, Germany's European Player of the 2013-14 season Nadine Kessler and USA's all-time record goalscorer Abby Warmbach, winner in 2012.

Japan's Asian coach of the year Norio Sasaki, who has been in charge of her national side since 2007, Ralf Kellermann, who guided VfL Wolfsburg to the women's Champions League title and his compatriot Maren Meinert, who coached the German Under-20 team to their age category global title, are in line for the women's coach of the year crown.

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular

Related Sections