PSL team guide: Lahore Qalandars

Barnaby Read 17:24 07/02/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

How do you think the franchises will fare in 2017? Which players are looking forward to seeing play? Do you believe the PSL final will be played in Lahore?

Join the debate by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.


It was well and truly a season to forget for Lahore Qalandars who finished bottom of the group and were the only side to miss out on the qualifying finals.

Chris Gayle was a huge disappointment for the franchise, unable to deliver the kind of blockbuster performances that his pay packet promised.

There was substance from Umar Akmal, who finished the tournament as the highest run-scorer but he was a rare flash of light in an otherwise dimly lit room.

Their struggles with the ball were highlighted by the fact that no-one other than Zafar Gohar and Ehsan Adil were able to take seven wickets or more.


There was major change at the top for Lahore as Aaqib Javed left his post as UAE coach to join the franchise as director of cricket and his first order of business was to hire a new captain.

Brendon McCullum was announced as their top pick for the draft and new skipper, Azhar Ali cast aside.

Gayle has also gone, as have fellow West Indians Dwayne Bravo and Kevon Cooper while Ajantha Mendis and Mustafizur Rahman are the other foreign players who will not return.

Cameron Delport will, however, the South African the only overseas to keep his place.

Jason Roy of England, Australian Chris Green and West Indies spinner Sunil Narine have signed, while McCullum will be joined by fellow Kiwis Anton Devcich, James Franklin and Grant Elliott.

Domestically, Sohail Tanvir is one of many new faces in part of an entire squad overhaul that only sees Azhar, Umar, Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah and Zafar Gohar retained from the list of Pakistan nationals who played for Lahore last year.


Lahore’s recruitment has seen a mass change from top to bottom and it will be interesting to see whether it is a case of too much too soon or just what the doctor ordered.

There is real potential in this team and with McCullum at the helm anything is possible. They should avoid finishing bottom this year but go no further than the second qualifying final.


Captain: Brendon McCullum (overseas)

Batsmen: Saif Badar, Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman

All-rounders: Bilawal Bhatti, Usman Qadir, Sohail Tanvir, Aamer Yamin

Wicket-keepers: Mohammad Rizwan, Umar Akmal

Bowlers: Ghulam Mudassar, Yasir Shah, Zafar Gohar, Mohammad Irfan

Overseas: Jason Roy (England), Cameron Delport (South Africa), Chris Green (Australia), Sunil Narine (West Indies), Anton Devcich (New Zealand), James Franklin (New Zealand), Grant Elliott (New Zealand), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular