PSL team guide: Peshawar Zalmi

Barnaby Read 17:29 07/02/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

How do you think the franchises will fare in 2017? Which players are looking forward to seeing play? Do you believe the PSL final will be played in Lahore?

Join the debate by commenting below, using #360fans on Twitter or getting in touch via Facebook.


Peshawar were the form team going into the business end of the 2016 tournament, topping the group stage with six wins out of eight and with a better net run-rate than Quetta Gladiators.

But they came crashing down to earth in the qualifying finals, first losing to Quetta and then Islamabad as they missed out on a finals place they will have surely felt was deserved.

It was a disappointing end to an otherwise marked first season and the pain of falling short in such a manner will have left the team smarting.


Quite a lot, with Shahid Afridi stepping aside as captain and Darren Sammy taking on the role of skipper.

Elsewhere, both the batting department and overseas contingent have had a complete overhaul.

Mohammad Hafeez remains at the top of the order but that’s about it, with Iftikhar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Khushdil Shah and Haris Sohail notable domestic signings to bolster the batting.

Sammy is the only overseas retained, with Andre Fletcher, Marlon Samuels, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Chris Jordan and Tillakaratne Dilshan all new faces.

Wahab Riaz again leads the attack alongside Imran Khan, Hasan Ali and Junaid Khan.


Someone has to finish bottom and, necks on the line, it’s going to be Peshawar.

This is largely down to the team being an ageing one but anything goes in T20 cricket and we’re more than happy to be proven wrong.


Captain: Darren Sammy (overseas)

Batsmen: Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah

All-rounders: Shahid Afridi, Haris Sohail

Wicket-keeper: Kamran Akmal

Bowlers: Mohammad Asghar, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Imran Khan, Hasan Ali, Irfan Khan

Overseas: Andre Fletcher (West Indies), Marlon Samuels (West Indies), Samit Patel (England), Eoin Morgan (England), Chris Jordan (England), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Darren Sammy (West Indies)

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular